Wk – 5 – Artist Conversation

Artist: Kristi Jensen

Exhibition: Fuse: Join to Form; Single Entity

Media: Silver, Steel, and Copper

Gallery: CSULB School of Art, Gatov Gallery East

Website: No Website

Instagram: whipperton

About the Artist

This week I chose to converse with Kristi Jensen. Kristi is an undergraduate student at California State University of Long Beach who plans to graduate in the fall receiving her Fine Arts degree. Kristi became inspired by her grandfather; who she often saw taking things apart and putting them back together. Another thing Kristi enjoys doing aside from working with metal is watching The Walking Dead.

Formal Analysis

There were many pieces I liked from this exhibition my two favorite ones were a necklace and the chair I saw as some-what creepy. Although the chair automatically grabbed my attention it gave me the creeps because of the “game” which goes completely against my tradition/culture/beliefs. However, I could not help but to admire all the detail and woven texture.

Content Analysis

While talking with Kristi I learned that she enjoys certain pieces like a neckpiece from this exhibit most because of the technique they require. This is probably why she also enjoys knitting when not working with metal and creating art pieces.

Synthesis / My Experience

I enjoyed this exhibit because the artwork seemed more fashionable to me; it was easier for me to admire. After learning that Kristi’s favorite piece was the neckpiece she had made I asked her why and she said it was mostly the technique she enjoyed using. This reminded me of my personal hobbies, and why I personally enjoy doing them. I grew up participating in Mixed Marshal Arts such as Jiu-Jitsu and Muay Thai Kickboxing and although I did it for less time I enjoyed Jiu-Jitsu way more because of all the technique it requires.

Leave a Reply

