Wk – 7 – Artist Conversation

 

 

Exhibition Information

Artist: Andrea Lauren Williams

Exhibition: Sacrifice

Media: Ceramics, Glass, Rock Clay & Cement

Gallery: CSULB School of Art, Gatov Gallery West

Website: www.mrsdubbayoo.com

Instagram: andreawilliammms

About the Artist

Andrea L. Williams is an undergrad at California State University of Long Beach who should be graduating this semester. Andrea’s inspiration behind this exhibit is her motherhood and the sacrifice that comes with becoming a mother. She is a mother of an infant, and is expecting another baby.

Formal Analysis

Andrea’s artwork made me feel completely intrigued and interested in learning more about her as an artist. Andrea has to be careful with the materials she uses because some things materials aren’t considered safe to use while pregnant. So, she sticks to clay, cement and ceramic – also, limits her time working with all materials. Andrea’s art consist of mostly gray, white, red and brown colors. Lastly, her work consist of rough bumpy texture.

Content Analysis

Due to the content of her art I was extremely interested in learning more about what inspired this exhibit. I was glad to learn that she had no anti-religion perspective at all rather more of a different approach of what religion is and what we tend to make religion. This exhibit was inspired by the idea of how much woman sacrifice themselves and their body when they decide to take on motherhood. I feel that this “issue” lacks attention within our society so I felt like I could understand her ideas behind her art.

Synthesis / My Experience

Andrea’s artwork is definitely different from anything I have seen yet! It completely grabbed my attention and made me feel compelled to learn more about her inspiration and ideas behind her artwork. I asked her questions about the criticism she’s received because I was curious to hear about what religious individuals may think of her work. At first I kind of saw it as disrespectful to many religious who take Jesus’ sacrifice as sacred and is incomparable. This was definitely the most interesting exhibit to me yet.

 

Leave a Reply

