Wk – 10 – Artist Conversation

Exhibition Information

Artist: Helen Werner Cox

Exhibition: Silent Screams

Media: Pastel, Oil, Inks, Marker, Monoprints and Basswood Carvings

Gallery: CSULB School of Art, Gatov Gallery West

Website: http://www.helenwernercox.com

Instagram: N/A

About the Artist

Helen Werner Cox is actually a graduate student at CSULB unlike most of the artist I have met in the past. This exhibition was for the completion of her MFA in drawing and painting. Cox is not originally from California she lived in Boston for a while and later settled in California where she began to teach. Cox taught in middle and high schools for thirty years.

Formal Analysis

Cox’s art is meant to express the anxieties we individuals experience through the lines, shapes and colors. The art is made up of mostly grey and brown colors although some of the art has color the colors purposely seem very pale and dull.

Content Analysis

Cox describes her work as a “visual metaphor” of our society. The idea of this exhibition began with a dream and turned into something bigger that is now meant to speak up for the “anxieties” we experience about the things we as individuals cannot change or control. Similar to the horses in a carousel going around in circles we often tend to live a dreading routine.

Synthesis / My Experience

Upon walking into the gallery I was automatically attracted to the very vintage feeling of the art. I love traditional art (drawings and paintings) I can admire. I think I was mostly attracted to the horses because I absolutely love horses and unicorns. However, I was not expecting such a deep meaning which most of us can relate to. I did catch on fast that most of the horses had screaming expressions so I was expecting to learn about some emotions portrayed through the art. As a sociologist I loved Cox’s portrayal of our society through her artwork.

Leave a Reply

